Approved at 12-10-21

GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Minutes of the Friday, October 29, 2021 Regular Board Meeting

Call to Order and Roll Call

The Governors State University Board of Trustees regular meeting for Friday, October 29, 2021 was called to order by Chair Harrell at 9:01 am. Roll call was taken and Trustees Pedro Cevallos-Candau, Lisa Harrell, Jeanine Latrice Koger, Jim Kvedaras, Angela Sebastian, and Anibal Taboas were in attendance. Trustees Kevin Brookins and John Brudnak were absent. The meeting was held on the University Park campus in Engbretson Hall.

Also in attendance:

Cheryl Green, President

Corey Bradford, Vice President for Administration and Finance

Therese King Nohos, Vice President, General Counsel and Interim Vice President of Human Resources

Penny Perdue, Chief of Administrative Operations and Liaison to the Board

Colleen Sexton, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Josh Allen, Associate Vice President, Human Resources

Catherine Balthazar, Dean, College of Health and Human Services

Villalyn Baluga, Associate Vice President for Finance

Zion Banks, Senior Writer, Marketing and Communications

Will Davis, Vice President for Institutional Advancement and Marketing and Communications

Marlon Cummings, Faculty, College of Education, Faculty Senate President

Shannon Dermer, Dean, College of Education

Kristoffer Evangelista, Internal Auditor

David Golland, Faculty, College of Arts and Sciences, Faculty Senate Representative

Carl Hampton, Chief Diversity Officer

Brenda Hannigan, Administrative Assistant to Vice President for Administration and Finance

Rosemary Johnsen, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs

Carolyn Johnson, Environmental Health and Safety Coordinator

Sheryl Jones-Harper, President, Civil Service Senate

Maureen Kelly, Director of Governmental and Community Relations

Marco Krcatovich, Director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness

James McGee, Chief of Police

John Potempa, Associate Vice President for Facilities Development and Management

Charles Pustz, Associate Vice President for Information Technology Services

Tracy Sullivan, Assistant Vice President of Procurement and Business Services

Brian Tse, Technical Associate, Information Technology Services

J. Christopher Tweddle, Faculty, College of Arts and Sciences, Faculty Senate Representative

Corey Williams, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Kaitlyn Wild, Director of Compliance

Sandra Zurawski, Director of Budget and Financial Planning

Chair Remarks

Chair Harrell delivered remarks, including changes to how Board meetings would proceed going forward:

- The Board will now utilize a consent agenda, which will allow the Board to move quickly through items that do not require extensive discussion or that were thoroughly addressed in committee meetings.
- The Chair will no longer ask for reports from individual Committee Chairs. Any updates can be provided during New Business/Old Business.
- The three senate president reports will be provided to the Board in writing prior to the meeting as information items.

Approval of Consent Agenda

Chair Harrell asked if any trustee wished to remove an item from the consent agenda. Chair Harrell requested that items 7, Civil Service Senate Report, and 8, Faculty Senate Report, be removed from the consent agenda. Chair Harrell asked for a motion to approve all items on the consent agenda with the exception of 7 and 8. Trustee Koger motioned. Trustee Taboas seconded. The motion passed.

Public Comment

None

President's Report

President Green delivered her report.

Additional Action Items

Chair Harrell asked for a motion to approve Resolution 22-08, the award of construction contracts to: Chicago Heights Construction Company of Chicago Heights, IL, in the amount of \$339,915 for general construction work; to EMM Electric Inc. dba Moral Electric of Alsip, IL, for electrical work in the amount of \$1,334,200; and to Chicago Fire Protection LLC for fire protection work in the amount of \$598,000. With the standard 10% contingency, this action authorizes the University to spend up to a total of \$2,499,326.50 on this bid award project. Trustee Kvedaras motioned. Trustee Koger seconded. The motion passed.

Chair Harrell asked for a motion to approve Resolution 22-16, waiving the first reading of certain proposed amendments to Board policies and regulations given their length. Trustee Kvedaras motioned. Trustee Cevallos-Candau seconded. The motion passed.

Chair Harrell then addressed the items removed from the Consent Agenda. Sheryl Jones Harper, President of the Civil Service Senate, and Marlon Cummings, President of the Faculty Senate, each gave brief reports.

Information Items

Chair Harrell stated that the Economic Impact Study was included in the board book. A discussion with Marco Krcatovich, Director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness ensued.

Chair Harrell stated that the "Safeguarding our Communities from Sexual Predators: What College Presidents and Trustees Should Ask" from United Educators was included in the board book. There were no questions.

Chair Harrell stated that the Information Technology Report was included in the board book. A discussion with Charles Pustz, Associate Vice President of Information Technologies ensued.

Old Business/New Business

Chair Harrell asked each Committee Chair if they had a report from their Committee. Trustee Sebastian reported that the Supply Chain Innovation Center and Business Incubator was important to GSU and the region and encouraged the trustees to familiarize themselves with work of the Center. She reported that the bond refinancing, approved at the August 13, 2021 meeting, was complete. Trustee Kvedaras mentioned that the Human Resources committee was focusing on compliance issues and thanked Therese King Nohos for her work in that area.

Chair Harrell reminded the trustees that they are required to complete their annual ethics training by December 31, 2021.

The meeting adjourned at 10:00 am with a motion from Trustee Koger and a second from Trustee Taboas. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted, Penny Perdue Recording Secretary